Tags

, ,

image

“Change Is Coming!!!” has been the popular slogan during the campaign season and THAT perhaps  won the hearts of the FILIPINO people. For when all we see on the news is criminality, corruption and vicious drug trade, what else do we wish for but CHANGE??? AND NOT just the change that past government officials promised but a radical change by and from a feisty leader.

We all know that if there’s one thing we cannot avoid whether related to our country, career or family …it is change. Change is inevitable and fortunately  for my fellow Filipinos,  the inevitable has BEGUN.

Sometimes though it is difficult to accept change like the proposed 3 kids per family or the alcohol ban after a certain time or the curfew hours for unaccompanied minors. Some sectors of our society cried “foul!”

Question: Why is it so difficult to accept change when it is certain that  we who object to change are continually changing??? Should we then object to the change coming in around us especially so if it is for the common good?

Yes, accepting change is never easy. For instance, consider the elderly gentleman whose eyesight has deteriorated to the point where he can no longer drive. Yet, he still holds on to his driver’s license and renews it every year, even though he knows if he drives he will be a danger to everyone including himself. Likewise, some sectors have “deteriorating eyesight” in the sense that they cannot see for instance how a large population can adversely impact the country’s economy. A smaller population would mean less poverty, less homeless people, more food supply, better education, better heath facilities and benefits, less congestion, less traffic, more jobs, less crimes, more local and foreign investors thus better economy. Should we then oppose to the proposed 3 kids per family policy?

Should we allow ourselves to be slaves to the sins of society that has engulfed our country for many years? Have we not gotten tired of the same issues facing our society?

Accepting what we really are  and what we become over time is part of maturity. The inevitability of change can be accepted as gracefully as the coming of the sunshine after the rain, or it can be as difficult as an earthquake or a typhoon that sweeps the South China sea.

Whether you fight change or accept it gracefully depends largely on your perception of WHAT LIES AHEAD…Think about the consequences… Will  the CHANGE do us good or bad??? Will it benefit future generations?

On a spiritual note, for the child of God, a change in society does not happen if we do not start with ourselves. Let us help our country move forward by becoming  responsible citizens.  Make the change starting with yourself and  your family.

In fact, on this site I have mentioned about what I  called as the “Chain of Change.” Change is something I envisioned as “contagious” like when you start doing what is right, then people around you (starting with your family) will see the “benefits” of your transformation and likewise, they too start to transform themselves. And this is passed on to another then another…which could little by little make this world a better place to live in.

But then again, many people assume they’re  stuck with the dyed-in-the-wool bad traits like dishonesty, materialism, sloth and greed to name a few.. The good news is that change is possible and it is never too late for anybody to change. How? First and foremost, you have to get connected with God. The scriptures say, “Live in me and I will live in you. A branch cannot produce any fruit by itself. It has to stay attached to the vine. In the same way, you cannot produce any fruit unless you live in me (John 15:4). Therefore, this is the first requirement in order that you could produce “good fruits” – desirable habits that would transform your life.

Why?  Because “The fruits of the Holy Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance,  kindness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control.” (Galatians 5:22-23a)

What kind of fruits then should you produce when you are not connected with Christ? The opposite of course – all of the sins of society that you can imagine – dishonesty, illegal drugs, materialism, corruption and greed among others.

But ‘though change is inevitable, change is NOT always towards the good but can also be the other way around. My friend, why backslide when to change for the better is moving towards heaven that will ultimately sharpen your focus on eternity?

As, I have said, the first requirement is staying connected with God. Change is NOT easy as I have mentioned for it entails sacrifices. It may mean GIVING UP on someone dear as in the case of a married woman who is having an illicit affair with another man for many years or it may mean giving up on vices that you enjoy like smoking or gambling or it could mean giving up on illegal business or stealing from funds you do not own but have access to. It may also mean giving up on your prized possession – your pride.

Giving up on people, money or material things that played a major part in your life is NOT easy. And since it is NOT EASY, it is impossible for you to change overnight. Change IS A process that needs time and effort. But here’s another good news: God is forever merciful and kind and He loves us unconditionally. He understand that humans including you and me are weak. And so, He is giving us chances  and ample time to change.

For the optimist however,“it is a matter of shifting your beliefs and thinking”...This may sound difficult at first but which…you will find out, only takes strong determination and will-power. It is like deciding suddenly  to do exercises when all throughout your life you maintained a sedentary lifestyle. The hardest part would be to begin the regimen but once you have started, it will be a good habit that comes out naturally. It is also a matter of repetition. If you think about staying connected with God again and again like your first priority – and shift your actions and behavior to reinforce your thought, it becomes ingrained in your heart and mind replacing undesirable habits to good ones in the process.

On a personal note, I have long decided to “transform” myself and thankfully have since then stayed connected with God. My greatest lesson is that the more I am connected with Him, the more tests and trials I encounter and the more  my character is being tested.

But I hang on to the Lord’s promise, “that in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

From the day I decided to follow and serve Jesus in my own little way,  I’ve chosen  to continue living a decent and honest life. I thought  I’d like to be a good person and so I choose to be more loving and compassionate.  I’d like to have more self-control and so I think and discern many times before I say or do something. I speak the truth and try to inspire and encourage others to do the same. I believe in humility as a show of strength not weakness and so I choose to be humble even when ridiculed. In short,  I choose to be a child of God and so I choose to live by God’s teachings and principles.

But then again, being a child of God is likewise NOT easy. Many times in the past, I got careless and I falter in my steps. I still get weak…I lose my temper, I speak bluntly, I break into tears for even with the purest of intentions, still  some people  misunderstand me but I have kept my faith and lived by it and regardless of what others think of me, I do believe I am following what God wants me to do. After all,  at the end of my life’s journey,  there is nobody BUT Him who will judge me.

CHANGE is inevitable and yes.. I have not totally changed because I am not perfect and nobody is but I have started changing my ways… and when at times I fall… I PRAY for guidance and strength… AND get up once again and start anew for I believe it’s NOT how many times I fall  but it’s how many times I get up each time I fall….

And because change is inevitable, I accept it wholeheartedly and  I’m CONSTANTLY and patiently trying to do the best that I can…My friend, I’ve made it this far and so can you….

image

