image

 

Mommy, today is so special for all of us. For 87 years ago on this day, God brought an amazing woman into this world – that was you, our beloved Mommy…This song is for you…

“When I find myself in times of trouble
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

And in my hour of darkness
She is standing right in front of me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

Let it be, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom
Let it be”

Of course everybody is familiar with that song, “Let It Be” popularized by the legendary band in the 60s – The Beatles. To many, it may only be a song, but it’s no ordinary song to me. It may just be a coincidence but the lyrics strike me in the heart whenever I hear that song. Why? Because it speaks well of my Mom, Maria “Mary” Lagasca Cid –  our own Mother Mary. She was born on December 8 – The Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion. Thus, she was named Maria in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mother.

If I were to describe my Mom in just one word…it would be AMAZING! I am a proud daughter who says my mom is no ordinary woman. She’s truly amazing! She exudes glamour and sophistication…those…..I obviously took from her Ehem!

Her outstanding devotion to God and the Blessed Mother and her love to others make her even more beautiful each day. As Louisa May Alcott once said, “Love is a great beautifier.” For if love resides within, it naturally radiates that you become even more beautiful on the outside.

My Mother is very kind and compassionate, very loving and caring and can never be outdone in generosity and thoughtfulness..Growing up, not a single moment did I see her raise her voice…Yes, NOT… a single moment. She was and is always soft-spoken and gentle. She is responsive and open. Always glad to help you in anyway she can. There’s just one thing that I almost hate about her – she’s the first person who gets worried and affected with the slightest problem that concerns us – her children and grandchildren. But then, deep inside I know  that’s how she demonstrates how  dearly she loves us and I am just so grateful…

Her close friends would tell you that my mom is  radiant – she always attracts people because she’s jolly and happy to be with. It’s not a surprise that she has made a lot of friends. Some of whom are much younger than she is. Everyone just loves my Mom’s company because she is full of wit and humor. Her sharp mind is manifested by how quickly she can cleverly inject humor into a unique situation that would make everyone one of us laugh to no end. In short, her jokes aren’t boring and corny. Ask her apokos, they all love lola Mommy’s jokes. Yes,  there’s never a dull moment with my Mom.

I thank God that at 87, she’s continually  blessed with good health. It must have been the many decades  she spent as an English school teacher  that kept her mind as sharp as ever. Then and now, she refers to her friends as “my barkada” and speaks about fb and selfies, how cool is that? Yes, that’s my Mom, our very own Mother Mary.

And so, I just wanted to take the time today to thank God for giving us the Best Mom in the World and to wish my Mommy, a HAPPY 87Th BIRTHDAY!  And Mother, you look much younger than your age, didn’t you always tell me about hearing such compliments often? And oh! Don’t bother about the lines and wrinkles – they demonstrate how long you have been loving us all.  Mommy,  just like the Mother Mary in the Beatles song, your wisdom and unceasing patience have made me the person I am today…

THANK YOU MOMMY for everything...Thank you for “coming to me and speaking words of wisdom when I find myself in times of trouble and for standing right infront of me in my hours of darkness,”

Mommy, then and now..you  ALWAYS speak words of wisdom…you never run short of good things to say…

Proudly, I say, the root of everything she has taught me over the years epitomizes two simple things: love and fear of God. Someone wrote, “To help the young soul, to add energy, inspire hope, to blow the coals into a useful flame, to redeem defeat by new thought and firm action, this, ‘though not easy, is the work of a divine man.” Mommy, those words define you.  You did well in raising us…You are truly divine my Mother. Your name – Maria speaks well of you, our very own Mother Mary…May God bless you with more, more birthdays to celebrate with us..HAPPY BIRTHDAY our dearest MOMMY! WE LOVE YOU!

